How to work with optimization criteria

Message
Author
paulepanke
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:50 am

How to work with optimization criteria

#1 Postby paulepanke » Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:55 am

Hello,

What optimization criteria uses FT?
How can I use my own criteria? If that's not possible, is there some creative way to manipulate results to influence the FT decision process?

Thank you.

FX Helper
Posts: 1037
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: How to work with optimization criteria

#2 Postby FX Helper » Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:00 am

Hello

Strategy optimizer uses all possible conditions one by one to find the best option of the strategy.

So you need to enter the range and step of each option so this optimizer can start working.

paulepanke
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:50 am

Re: How to work with optimization criteria

#3 Postby paulepanke » Mon Mar 21, 2016 1:59 pm

Thank you. What you described is the natural way one would expect an optimizer to work but it doesn't answer my question. Let me rephrase.

How does FT define "the best option" and how can I as a FT user influence this definition? For example a beginner in trading could naively assume that highest profit might be "the best option". However, everyone who ever traded live knows that this is not the case. Therefore my question.

Thank you

FX Helper
Posts: 1037
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:55 am

Re: How to work with optimization criteria

#4 Postby FX Helper » Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:17 am

Hello

As far as I know, the case with the highest profit will be considered as the "best option".


Return to “Strategies backtesting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests