Page 1 of 1

How to test EAs

Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 6:59 am
by sigebo
Please teach me how to test by the FT3 a EA on running MT4.
But I don't know the sourse code of the the EA.
I can use C++.

Re: How to test EAs

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:56 am
by FX Helper
Hello,

Sorry, but you can't convert an expert from MT4 to Forex Tester format without having a source code.

If you need to add an indicator/strategy from MT4 that is not in our list, you need to convert it from .mql to .dll format.
The conversion is not very difficult because our API is very similar to MQL.
You can find API files in C:\ForexTester\Examples\Strategies folder.

Please see more information about API in Forex Tester → Help → Strategies API

As soon as you have the required EA in .dll format, add it into Forex Tester via File → Install → Install New Strategy menu.

Re: How to test EAs

Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:33 am
by sigebo
Can I create a common DLL for FT3 and MT4 by the following procedure?
Create prog_ft3.cpp for ft3 using API of FT3.
Compile this and link it with the library for ft3 to make prog_ft3.dll.
This is executed by FT3.
Next, compile link with the library of MT4 for prog_ft3.cpp and create prog_mt4.dll.
Execute prog_mt4.dll with mt4.
It is assumed that API calling format for FT3 and it of MT4 are the same.

prog_ft3 + libraly of Ft3api > prog_ft3.dll
prog_ft3 + libraly of MT4api > prog_mt4.dll

Re: How to test EAs

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:43 am
by FX Helper
Hello,

Sorry, but this is not possible as far as I know, the only way is to rewrite a source code from MQL to Forex Tester format (and vice versa) and compile the EA after that.

There is no automatic converter at the moment.

Re: How to test EAs

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:40 am
by NewtonR
This sounds too complicated for an automatic converter anyway. I so wish there was one too.

Re: How to test EAs

Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 4:07 am
by Picton
Hello is it correct that I can run with FT3 no EA.ex4 without .mql and. Dll?

Re: How to test EAs

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 12:23 am
by Picton
Hello can i test more tehn 1 EA similar ?
it ist working on .ex4 ?

Re: How to test EAs

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 8:08 am
by FX Helper
Hello,

MT4 experts will not work in Forex Tester program, our software works only with EAs which are written in Forex Tester format and have .dll extension.
We provide Delphi and C++ API for creating/rewriting indicators and experts in Forex Tester format so if you have programming skills you can rewrite them.

We provide Delphi and C++ API for writing indicators and EAs.
Please see more information about API here:
Forex Tester -> Help -> Strategies API
http://www.forextester.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=8
http://www.forextester.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=9

API files can be found in C:\<ForexTester>\Examples\Strategies folder.